Skip to content

Entertaining Idea: Eclectic Table Setting

10

Don’t be a square, be a rectangular table, draped in a vibrant tablecloth with a mixed match of green, yellow and violet plates and golden silverware. Try an eclectic style for your next dinner party. Make each place setting as unique as the person eating from it.

Dinner Party Idea: Eclectic Table Setting

1. Red Asian Pattern 2. Blue Stripe 3. Yellow Lattice Pattern

Greetings, Kumquats! Plates have their own personalities. Violet is regal, green is refreshing, yellow is happy and together they make a playful place setting. Start collecting your plate personalities from venues that sell unique tableware pieces, like flea markets and Etsy.com. Check out the list of 5 eclectic plate ideas, and entertain with the spice of life.

Eclectic Table Setting Ideas:

  • Stripe, floral, dots, peacocks: choose different patterns for each place setting
  • Yellow, purple, yellow, purple: make every other plate a different color
  • Same plates, different glasses: make each wine and water glass a different style
  • Sky blue, electric blue, navy: do a monochromatic setting
  • Square, circle, square: change the shapes of each plate

Try these creative appetizer and cocktail recipes to enjoy at your eclectic dinner party!

Fennel Burger Appetizer with Blue Cheese and Mushrooms Recipe

More Entertaining Ideas from Dresses & Appetizers:

Photography and Graphics by Brandon Johnson

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 10 pm

    I think I have an eclectic taste and I love your ideas! I love mixing it up like that esp the “monochromatic setting”. That’s new to me and I like. 🙂

    • brandon maya permalink*
      10 pm

      Thanks, Muhammad!
      A creative kitchen table is aesthetically addictive , you’ll never go back to a conventional setting! Enjoy.

      Love, Dresses & Appetizers,
      Brandon

  2. 10 am

    Great ideas! I’m having a dinner party this Saturday. It will be fun putting your suggestions to use.

    • brandon maya permalink*
      10 pm

      Dear Kristi,
      I’m glad you like the idea! Nice blog by the way, love the “tips to lighten your recipes” section. Do me a favor if you try any of my dinner party ideas or recipes, take a picture and send it to me at bmayafood@gmail.com. It will be fun to see people enjoying the decor and festivities. Have fun.

      Love. Peace. And Tapas,
      Brandon

  3. 10 pm

    I mix plates and bowls but all of them are blue and white. Controlled chaos.

    • brandon maya permalink*
      10 pm

      Carol!
      Nice to see you back. Take a pic of your nautical-inspired place setting and sent it over, I just may post it!

      Peace. Love. And Samosas,
      Brandon
      bmayafood@gmail.com

  4. 11 pm

    Your delightful setting makes me want 2 sit at your table, although I was wondering where my plates and flatware disappeared 2,hmm…now I know. MOM (in my urban herbal backyard)

Leave a Reply

